Homemade Gluten-Free Hoisin Sauce

If you eat a gluten-free diet there are a lot of places you need to make sure you double check ingredients on before you eat. One of those places we tend to forget to double check is in the sauce of our favorite meals because why would there be gluten in a liquid? Well, it happens — and probably more than you think in places you may not expect. 

If you’re a fan of Chinese food, and who isn’t, chances are your food has soy sauce (which can also contain gluten) or hoisin sauce — which traditionally is gluten-containing. If you wondered by you feel like you’ve been glutenend shortly after binging on your favorite

Here’s what you do:

Homemade Gluten-Free Hoisin Sauce
Recipe Type: Staple
Cuisine: Gluten-free
Author: Devan McGuinness
Prep time:
Total time:
  • 4 tablespoons gluten free soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter
  • 1 tablespoon tahini
  • 2 1/2 tablespoon honey
  • 2 teaspoons white vinegar
  • 1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 2 teaspoons sesame seed oil
  • 2 teaspoons of Chinese-style hot sauce (Sriracha, anyone?)
  • 1/8 teaspoon black pepper
  1. In a bowl, add all ingredients and mix until well-stirred together.

 Some people enjoy their sauce a little sweeter & if that’s you, add in extra honey. If you like it thicker, add more tahini, and if spice is your thing, you can’t have too much Sriracha (well, yeah you can so don’t go too crazy with it).


Photo credit: adapted from lydiajoy1 | Flickr

What is your favorite use of hoisin sauce? Share in the comments!

Join the Discussion:

comments so far. Add yours!